2023 Youth Road National Championships Results

Images: Toby Watson

The 2023 Youth Road National Championships took place on Saturday, September 2nd, in Killea, Co. Derry, as a host of new national champions were crowned.

Following the unfortunate cancellation of the original event due to safety concerns following Storm Betty last month, Cycling Ulster in conjunction with Cycling Leinster, Strabane Lifford CC and Foyle CC hosted the championships. The Youth Road National Championships will were ran alongside the Cycling Ulster Youth Championships. 

In an enjoyable day of racing, Ireland's brightest young riders put on a fine display as racing took place in the U11, U12, U13, U14, U15 and U16 categories for both boys and girls.

There was exciting racing as both the road races and time trials were held on the Killea circuit.

In the boys road races, William Hance was U11 winner, Ethan Real took the U12 title, Josh McClune was crowned U13 national champion, Rian McCrystal won the U14 title while Jack Woods and Rory Condon were crowned national champions in the U15 and U16 boys categories respectively. 

In the girls road races, Laoise Crinion and Ava Baker were U11 and U12 winners, Naoise Byrne and Emer Heverin took the U13 and U14 national titles while Ffion Dolan took the U15 crown as Aliyah Rafferty picked up the U16 National Championship.

In the time trials, Ashton Foley Doran and Ethan Real were U11 and U12 boys national champions, Tom Lane and Rian McCrystal picked up wins in the U13 and U14 categories while Adam Ward and David Gaffney rounded out the winners of the boys time trial - picking up the U15 and U16 titles.

In the girls time trials, Daria Murphy and Rose Linehan were U11 and U12 national champions, Katie Turner and Emer Heverin won the U13 and U14 categories while Aisha Gannon and Aliyah Rafferty were strongest in the U15 and U16 time trials. 

Full results from the 2023 Youth Road National Championships are available here.